The Birthday Letter I Sent to Myself from the Past

Two years and 49 days ago to be specific

Kei Hysi
4 min readFeb 19, 2020

Around five years ago, I had the idea to send letters to my future self for my birthdays. That way I could reflect on the changes I would experience over the years. The letter below is the second letter I receive from the past. I waited 2 years and 49 days to open it. The only reason I’m posting is that I believe this letter could be a letter you would have sent to yourself or maybe you find yourself somewhere between the lines. Except for one paragraph that has not been made public, the rest is the same as the letter written by 20 years old me.

The envelope, in my mother tongue, Albanian

January 11, 2018

Dear Kei,

Happy Birthday! I hope today is going to be filled with moments of happiness. I cannot imagine what you are doing today. I don’t even know where you are, whether you have friends or not, whether you will go somewhere to celebrate or maybe you have an exam to study for. However, I am sure that the people close to you, the ones who love you, the ones without whom your life would feel empty, will wish you a happy birthday. I hope you are surrounded by such people, good people.

How are you? Did you manage to get accepted for the Master of Business Intelligence? I wish you did. I know it’s difficult but never forget who you are…

--

--

Kei Hysi

Stanford VSR | Newsletter: https://keis-newsletter.beehiiv.com/subscribe |Travel | Education | Self Developement | Investing | My poems: @keiwritings