How I Got the Opportunity to Go To China

My experience in TIE2 Program

Kei Hysi
5 min readAug 5, 2020
Shanghai at night — Photo by Kei Hysi

After participating in the Tech Challenge with our safewAI app, I and my team members became aware of all the great opportunities that UnternehmerTUM offers to startups, or even to us, who wanted to found a startup. UnternehmerTUM is the biggest innovation and entrepreneurship center in Europe, so no surprise they offer great programs. One of these programs that we as a team came across was the TIE2(THU-TUM) International Lab. TIE2 offers two exchange periods, one in China, Beijing, and the other one in Munich, Germany. During these exchanges, 16 startups (8 from China and 8 from Germany) experience the similarities and differences between the German and Chinese market conditions and startup cultures. It sounds cool, doesn’t it? That’s what we thought, and so we applied.

Only 2 members of the team have the chance to participate in the TI2. In our case, it was me and Lysander. I really could not believe it when we got accepted. We were going to China! Can you believe it? That was like one of my dreams finally coming too (Yes, I always dreamed of climbing the great wall of China). So here we were, me and Lysander preparing everything about this experience. It would all start with 8 startups from Germany going to Beijing to meet there the 8 startups from China, work with them, meet investors, and…

--

--

Kei Hysi

Stanford VSR | Newsletter: https://keis-newsletter.beehiiv.com/subscribe |Travel | Education | Self Developement | Investing | My poems: @keiwritings