The art of being alone, but not lonely

A story about self-love

Kei Hysi
4 min readJan 3, 2019
https://psychology-spot.com/

I am sure that all of us at some point in our life have experienced loneliness to some degree. At least I did some years ago. I thought that others could not understand me and even though I was surrounded all the time by family members and friends I felt lonely, I felt like nobody cared about me or even loved me. Sounds familiar?

Now to make things clear, being lonely is not the same thing as being alone. By definition loneliness is sadness caused because one has no friends or company. But the truth is people experience loneliness even when they have friends or company. You experience loneliness in your relationship or friendships too. Meanwhile, being alone means being on your own, and trust me, there is nothing more fulfilling than that, but we will come to that later on.

Nowadays I live alone, and never did I experience loneliness. Why? Let me show you. I realized that I felt lonely whenever I had expectations from other people, and when these expectations were not fulfilled, boom, loneliness came into my life. I felt lonely because I was in the wrong environment and my friends could not really understand my thoughts and dreams and when they did not support me, boom, loneliness would knock on my door again. But the main reason why I felt lonely was that I did not love myself enough…

--

--

Kei Hysi

Stanford VSR | Newsletter: https://keis-newsletter.beehiiv.com/subscribe |Travel | Education | Self Developement | Investing | My poems: @keiwritings